Students in the School atrium

The Blavatnik School of Government publishes its new Annual Report today, spanning the period from April 2023 to March 2024. It highlights the School’s research and teaching, its students and alumni. 

Dean Ngaire Woods notes:

“the generosity and vision of those who give their time, wisdom and funding in support of a bold ambition to improve government worldwide.”

This year those from across government and public policy who have shared their time and wisdom in Dean’s Forums with the students have included influential figures from former US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton to the UK’s Chancellor of the Exchequer the Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP. Financial supporters have enabled a record 90% of the Master of Public Policy (MPP) cohort to receive full or partial funding towards their course fees.

Highlights in the report include celebrating the research impact of Dr Kate Orkin who won an ESRC award for her work with the South African government to keep millions of people out of poverty and the launch of the What Works Hub for Global Education programme. There are interviews with faculty including Emily Jones, the new Director of the Case Centre on Public Leadership and Jo Wolff, who is preparing to step down from his role as the Alfred Landecker Professor of Values and Public Policy next year.

The report also features the achievements of our alumni, many of whom have assumed public service roles, including Keir Mather who became the UK’s youngest MP after a by-election in Selby and Ainsty, and Aleksandra Wisniewska who was sworn in as an MP to the Polish Sejm. 

Read the full report