The School is a department of the University of Oxford, and so sits within the University’s overall governance structure.

Management Board

The Management Board has been constituted by the University of Oxford to supervise the direction and management of the School. Members of the Management Board are heads of divisions and departments from across the University, and the board is chaired by the head of the social sciences division.

Strategy and Resources Group

The School’s Strategy and Resources Group, composed of senior members of the School, is accountable to the Management Board and is responsible for strategy and key resourcing decisions.


Professor Ngaire Woods is our founding dean, leading the School and chairing the Strategy and Resources Group.

Advisory boards

In addition, we have two advisory boards to the school.

International Advisory Board

The International Advisory Board offers advice on the School’s strategy and priorities and brings in external perspectives from multiple sectors and countries. Its members are globally renowned leaders from all parts of the world. Board members meet once a year at the School and provide ad hoc advice as required. 

Academic Advisory Board

The Academic Advisory Board is made up of deans from other public policy schools in Europe, the US, Africa and Asia, who offer advice on all aspects of the School’s academic activities, including programmes, student engagement, faculty recruitment and development, and academic life.

Paragraph title
Our Annual Report

Read the latest annual report