Kyoto Prize at Oxford 2020

Blavatnik School of Government, University of Oxford, Radcliffe Observatory Quarter, Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 6GG
Open to the public
This event is free
May 2020

The Blavatnik School will welcome the 2019 Kyoto Prize laureates for a series of public lectures and celebratory events as part of the Kyoto Prize at Oxford. The Kyoto Prize is an international award to honour those who have contributed significantly to the scientific, cultural and spiritual betterment of humankind. The driving vision for the Kyoto Prize at Oxford is that the Inamori Foundation and the Blavatnik School of Government find a shared purpose in inspiring, educating and connecting individuals who strive for the greater good of humankind and society.

Kyoto Prize 2019 laureates

  • Advanced Technology: Professor Ching W Tang, IAS Bank of East Asia Professor, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology; Professor Emeritus, University of Rochester
  • Basic Sciences: Professor James Gunn, Emeritus Eugene Higgins Professor of Astrophysical Science, Princeton University
  • Arts and Philosophy: Ariane Mnouchkine, Founder and Director, Théâtre du Soleil

More information about the event will be available closer to the time.