'Escaping the fragility trap' - the launch of the Commission on State Fragility's report

Friday, 13 April 2018

The Commission on State Fragility, Growth and Development will release its final report in April 2018 with a series of events in Washington D.C. and London.

10:00am to 11:00am ET, 3:00pm to 4:00pm BST, 18 April 2018 , HQ1 Halls A & B, International Monetary Fund, Washington DC

Speakers: Kristalina Georgieva – CEO, World Bank; Donald Kaberuka – High Representative, African Union Peace Fund; Paul Collier - Professor of Economics and Public Policy, Oxford University; Tao Zhang – Deputy Managing Director, IMF The roundtable will be livestreamed.

9:00am - 10:45am ET, 2:00 - 3:45pm BST, 19 April, Center for Global Development, Washington DC

David Cameron, former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, and Donald Kaberuka, High Representative on the African Union Peace Fund, to discuss the need for a new global approach to state fragility. They will be launching the Commission’s report Escaping the Fragility Trap, which makes the case for urgent action and outlines recommendations for how domestic and international actors can do things differently. A second panel discussion will delve deeper into the challenges of economic policy management in fragile and conflict affected states with Sir Paul Collier, Professor of Economics and Public Policy at the Blavatnik School of Government and Academic Director of the Fragility Commission, Charles Collyns, Director of the IMF's Independent Evaluation Office (IEO), and Amat Al Alim Alsoswa, former Minister in Yemen and former UN Assistant Secretary General.

People: