Featured Speakers

Featured speakers at the 2014 Challenges of Government Conference 'Flourishing Cities':

Rafat Ali Al-Akhali, Minister of Youth and Sports, Government of Yemen
Charlotte Alldritt, Secretary, RSA City Growth Commission
Atif Ansar, Departmental Lecturer in Public Policy and Management, Blavatnik School of Government
Anna Livia Arida, Director, Minha Sampa, Brazil
David Banister, Professor of Transport Studies, University of Oxford Transport Studies Unit
Ben Bradford, Lecturer in Criminology, University of Oxford
Shahana Chattaraj, Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Comparative Public Policy, Blavatnik School of Government
Susan Claris, Associate Director, ARUP
Sir Paul Collier, Professor of Public Policy, Blavatnik School of Government
Aníbal Gaviria Correa, Mayor of Medellin, Colombia
Pedro Henrique de Cristo, Partner and CoFounder, +D Studio // Design with Purpose, Brazil
Jo da Silva OBE, Director, Arup International Development
David De Roure, Professor of e-Research and Director of Oxford e-Research Centre, University of Oxford
Dickson Despommier, Founder, Vertical Farming Project, Columbia University
Monica Duffy Toft, Professor of Government and Public Policy, Blavatnik School of Government
Jerome Frost OBE, UKMEA Leader of Consulting, ARUP
Marina Galanti, Founder & President, RUSH Foundation
Tara Garnett, Director, Food Climate Research Network
Andrew Grant, Global Leader of the Public Sector Practice, McKinsey & Company
Sir Muir Gray, Director, Better Value Healthcare
Alain Guinebault, Director, Groupe Energies Renouvelables, Environnement et Solidarités (GERES)
Maarten Hajer, Director-General of PBL Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency
Thomas Hale, Associate Professor in Public Policy, Blavatnik School of Government
Jim Hall, Director, Environmental Change Institute, University of Oxford
Andrew Hamilton, Vice Chancellor of the University of Oxford
Barbara Hammond, Chief Executive, Low Carbon Hub
Tim Harris, Head of Investment, Mayor’s Office of Cape Town
Mo Ibrahim, Founder, Mo Ibrahim Foundation
Kate Jackson, Knowledge Expert, McKinsey Center for Government, McKinsey & Company
Stephen Jennings, Founder, Rendeavour
Michael Keith, Professor and Director, Centre on Migration, Policy and Society, University of Oxford
Peter Kemp, Vice Dean for Academic Affairs & Professor of Public Policy, Blavatnik School of Government
Patrick Le Galès, CNRS Director of Research & Professor of Political Science, Sciences Po
Pavan Mamidi, Professor, Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad
Denis Mizne, Chief Executive Officer, The Lemann Foundation, Brazil
Suzy Moat, Assistant Professor, Warwick School of Business
Geoff Mulgan, Chief Executive Officer, Nesta
Mthuli Ncube, Senior Research Fellow – RethinkHIV, the Blavatnik School of Government
Gascia Ouzounian, Co-Founder, Recomposing the City, Queen’s University Belfast
Edgar Pieterse, South African Research Chair in Urban Policy & Director for the African Centre for Cities, University of Cape Town
Antonio Prado, Deputy Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean, United Nations
Amit Prasad, Health Economist, Centre for Health Development, World Health Organization
Steve Rayner, Director, Oxford Programme for the Future of Cities
Sara Thornton, Chief Constable, Thames Valley Police, Oxford
Tony Travers, Director of LSE London & Professor of Government, London School of Economics
Ngaire Woods, Dean, Blavatnik School of Government
Xue Lan, Professor and Dean, School of Public Policy and Management, Tsinghua University
Winnie Yip, Professor of Health Policy and Economics, Blavatnik School of Government